Skip Navigation

Boards & Commissions

South Carolina has over 250 statewide boards and commissions. These boards and commission provide important advisory, regulatory, and policy-making services as part of South Carolina’s government. Service on boards and commissions allows citizens the opportunity to improve the quality of life and positively impact the future of South Carolina.

How do I get more information on boards and commissions in South Carolina? The S.C. Legislative Manual is updated annually and contains a complete listing of all boards and commissions – including term information, qualifications needed, and how members are elected or appointed. Access the current Legislative Manual by clicking here.

How do I know which boards have vacancies? An Act was passed by the South Carolina General Assembly in 1998 delegating to the Secretary of State the duty of publicizing vacancies, expired terms, and those terms expiring within one year. Access the Secretary of State's Boards & Commissions searchable database by clicking here.

Interested in serving? Please contact Katie Philpott at 803.734.5086.

 Contact Us 


Phone: 803.734.2100
Fax: 803.734.5167

Mailing Address:
The Honorable Nikki R. Haley
Office of the Governor
1205 Pendleton Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Connect With Us

SC Governor Nikki Haley

Nikki R. Haley

Governor of South Carolina

Nikki Randhawa Haley was re-elected as the 116th Governor of South Carolina on Tuesday, November 4, 2014, by the largest margin of victory for a South Carolina gubernatorial candidate in 24 years.

During her first term, Governor Haley, the first female and the first minority governor in South Carolina history and currently the youngest governor in the country, delivered results to the people of every part of our state.

Under the governor’s leadership, South Carolina’s jobless rate hit record lows, the state announced more than 58,000 jobs in 45 of 46 counties, more than 25,000 South Carolinians moved from welfare to work, and the state made its largest infrastructure investment in a generation without raising taxes.


Read more