EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 2019-29

WHEREAS, due to the potential impact of Hurricane Dorian, which is currently a category 5 hurricane, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 2019-26 on August 31, 2019, declaring a State of Emergency and activating the South Carolina Emergency Operations Plan to provide for the health, safety, and welfare of residents and visitors located in the threatened areas; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with section 25-1-440 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, as amended, the undersigned has issued contemporaneously herewith Executive Order No. 2019-28, which directs and compels the evacuation, effective at noon, September 2, 2019, of persons located in the following counties and corresponding Evacuation Zones: Jasper (Zone A), Beaufort (Zone A), Colleton (Zones A and B), Charleston (Zones A, B, and C), Dorchester (Zone D), Berkeley (Zones B and G), Georgetown (Zone A), and Horry (Zone A); and

WHEREAS, for the foregoing reasons and pursuant to the cited authority and other applicable law, the undersigned is further authorized to direct and compel the closure of state government offices and public schools as necessary to effectuate and support the evacuation of the public from those areas threatened by the impacts of Hurricane Dorian; and

WHEREAS, upon consultation with the South Carolina Emergency Management Division ("EMD") and other state and local agencies and officials, the undersigned has determined that it is necessary to close state government offices and public schools in the following counties, which are subject to, or include certain areas subject to, evacuation in accordance with Executive Order No. 2019-28: Beaufort, Jasper, Colleton, Charleston, Berkeley, Dorchester, Georgetown, and Horry.

NOW, THEREFORE, by virtue of the authority vested in me as the Governor of the State of South Carolina and pursuant to the Constitution and Laws of this State and the powers conferred upon me therein, I hereby order the closure of all state government offices and public

Executive Order No. 2019-29 Page 2 September 1, 2019

schools, to include state-supported colleges, universities, and technical colleges, in the following counties: Beaufort, Jasper, Colleton, Charleston, Berkeley, Dorchester, Georgetown, and Horry, beginning September 2, 2019, and until further notice. This Order applies to all employees of state government offices and public schools located in the aforementioned counties, with the exception of those emergency or other critical personnel designated as essential, or whose presence is otherwise deemed necessary, by the director or chief administrative official of the state government agency or office or by the appropriate school district official.

This Order is effective immediately. Further proclamations, orders, and directives deemed necessary to ensure the fullest possible protection of life and property during this State of Emergency shall be issued verbally by the undersigned and thereafter reduced to writing and published for dissemination within the succeeding 24-hour period.

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND AND THE GREAT SEAL OF THE STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA, THIS 1st DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2019.

HENRY MCMASTER Governor

ATTEST:
MARK HAMMOND
Secretary of State