Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

The Governor has declared a state of emergency in South Carolina. For the latest information on COVID-19 in South Carolina please visit

The Governor's accelerateSC task force has launched, South Carolina's one-stop-shop for COVID-19 response information.

Evacuation Orders Lifted for All Previously Evacuated Counties

September 6, 2019

COLUMBIA, S.C. – In coordination with local law enforcement and county emergency management officials, Governor Henry McMaster has lifted the mandatory evacuation order for residents in all evacuated counties, effective immediately. Those counties include: Charleston, Berkeley, Dorchester, Georgetown, and Horry. The governor lifted the mandatory evacuation order for Beaufort, Jasper and Colleton counties yesterday.

The governor has also restored local schools district’s authority concerning school closings.  State government offices in all eight evacuated counties will operate as normal on Monday.  All mandatory medical evacuations have been lifted.

Returning residents are encouraged to exercise patience and expect lengthy travel times, blocked roadways, or detours back to evacuated areas and are asked not to drive around barricades or use emergency lanes that are needed for first responders.

While weather conditions have improved in the state, motorists should be cautious of fallen trees, downed power lines, and standing water in and around roadways. Power outages continue to affect some coastal areas, and returning citizens may continue to experience outages.