Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

The Governor has declared a state of emergency in South Carolina. For the latest information on COVID-19 in South Carolina please visit

The Governor's accelerateSC task force has launched, South Carolina's one-stop-shop for COVID-19 response information.

Evacuation Orders Lifted for Beaufort, Jasper, and Colleton Counties at 3:00 PM Today

September 5, 2019

COLUMBIA, S.C. – In coordination with local officials, Governor Henry McMaster has lifted the evacuation orders for all residents in Beaufort, Jasper, and Colleton counties, effective at 3:00 PM today, Thursday, September 5. 

At the request of local officials, evacuation orders for Charleston, Dorchester, Berkeley, Georgetown, and Horry counties remain in effect as Hurricane Dorian continues to pose a threat to those areas. As the storm progresses, the governor will lift evacuation orders in coordination with local law enforcement and emergency management officials. 

Returning residents are encouraged to exercise patience and expect lengthy travel times, blocked roadways, or detours back to evacuated areas and are asked not to drive around barricades or use emergency lanes that are needed for first responders.

While the weather conditions have improved in these counties, motorists should be cautious of fallen trees, downed power lines, and standing water in and around roadways. Limited power outages continue to affect the area, and returning citizens may experience outages. 

The governor also restored local officials’ authority over school schedules and government office schedules in Beaufort, Jasper, and Colleton counties.